August Cycling Challenge: 150 miles, 1 month

Options

Replies

• carbonboy
    carbonboy Posts: 729
    Options
    Logging 13 miles. Nothing too unusual for this group but it was my first real ride as I'm just getting started!!!!

I wrote on anther thread: Took the bike out today with DH for my first 'real ride.' Earlier in the week I just went around my neighborhood. Turns out I didn't understand how the gearing system works and was riding around in 15th gear instead of 5th gear on relatively flat areas!embarassed I was wondering why it was so hard to pedal, just assumed I was really out of shape, lol. Sorry, that must sound very lame to the seasoned riders out there but I'm over 50 years old and only had a basic bike as a kid. I thought I underdstood it, but add traffic, gravel on the road and a healthy dose of fear and it was all a bit confusing at first.

So, we went out today for a 13 mile ride or so. Took our time and some breaks (saddle soreness even with good bike shorts). It went so well! I was blessed with perfect weather: not too hot, a bit of a breeze, pretty good traffic-wise given it was early Sunday. We took the long way home, a back country road with agricultural fields and beautiful scenery. Scores of bicyclists were headed the other direction, seemed to be some sort of race going on. Best part was that I was outside and loved it! Already thinking about when we can go again!bigsmile

Gotta love it when someone new discovers the joy of cycling. The saddle soreness goes away...eventually. Please let me know if you have any questions about bike gear, technique, bike etiquette, etc. Happy trails.
  • slim_photographer
    slim_photographer Posts: 310 Member
    Options
    I don't remember if I already posted that I'm up to 44.

QUESTIONS FOR SEMI-PRO or ELITE:
    Will the butt discomfort go away at some point?