Best exercise to start with?

Options
Hi everyone. I'm 49 years old, 5'1 and 204 pounds, down from 237. I've been doing keto for three months. Now that I've got my eating under control and I'm nearly to my first goal of getting under 200 lb., I'm almost ready to start incorporating regular exercise into my routine. I'm somewhat sedentary, aside from going up and down stairs several times a day, the usual housework, taking out trash, grocery shopping, etc. I can do all of these activities without losing my breath and don't have any cardiac issues that I know of. I've never enjoyed exercise or sports. I have used the treadmill in the past but find it very boring and got frustrated at burning so few calories for the effort. I've been thinking of trying yoga as a way to regain some flexibility and get used to exercising again. I'm grateful for any advice.

Replies

• TeaBea
    TeaBea Posts: 14,517 Member
    edited March 2019
    Options
    Go outside and walk. Start with short walks and increase the time until you are walking 45-60 minutes at a time. On days you can't walk, yoga, pilates, low impact aerobics like the Leslie Sansome videos are good for beginners.

This^

Test drive some workouts from YouTube, figure out what you like.

https://www.youtube.com/user/walkathomemedia

http://jessicasmithtv.com/

https://yogawithadriene.com/free-yoga-videos/30-days-of-yoga/
  • missysippy930
    missysippy930 Posts: 2,577 Member
    Options
    Another vote for walking.
    It’s free and you can do it anywhere.
  • aokoye
    aokoye Posts: 3,495 Member
    Options
    I agree with the walking suggestion. My other thought was, gradually ease yourself into an activity that you enjoy. Walking, cycling, running (which would involve going slowly and taking breaks for walking), strength training, pilates, etc. Whatever you do, don't go full bore.
  • NormInv
    NormInv Posts: 3,285 Member
    Options
    Walking outside is the best exercise to start with and build stamina.