It's not really getting easier

Hi everyone,

I've come back after a 6 year hiatus. I started 11 days ago and I've been trying to workout most days. Back in the day, I did a lot of Leslie Sansone walk away the pounds and I was pretty successful! But, it's been super hard for me. I've been able to last a min or two longer, but eventually stop before the end of the 30 min workout. I'm trying out different youtube workouts. Found one I liked today, but every 10 min, I have to pause and take a breather and I barely finished that 30 min. The one I did today is advertised as "for complete beginners." If I can't finish that without taking a lot of pauses, is there something wrong with me? It's frustrating. My back has been hurting. I went for a 2.5 mile walk the other day and came home with huge blisters. I guess I'm just irked that this is getting the better of me.

I've never been athletic or really into working out, but I thought I was better than this. Ideas? Suggestions?

Replies

• littlegreenparrot1
    littlegreenparrot1 Posts: 694 Member
    I once read that muscle wastage sets in after only 3 days. Which is why if you've been stuck in bed for a week with flu everything feels so hard. Normal things like making a piece of toast need a sit down after.

So after 6 years doing nothing in particular it is going to take a while. Doing something is always better than nothing, regardless of having to stop. Next time you just try to get a bit further along before you stop.

I'm a runner who hasn't run for a fortnight because we're moving house. Going to try and find the time this week but I know already it'll be harder than last time!
  • Theoldguy1
    Theoldguy1 Posts: 2,454 Member
    I once read that muscle wastage sets in after only 3 days. Which is why if you've been stuck in bed for a week with flu everything feels so hard. Normal things like making a piece of toast need a sit down after.