Accountability

Hi, I am 55years old living in Australia. I have tried many diets and health programs. I never post as I figure if no one knows that I am trying to lose weight and I fall of the wagon it wont matter. So this is putting myself out there.
I weigh 95kgs (209lbs), love sugar, hate exercise as in walking etc. I do enjoy gardening and I am happy to walk for a purpose such as sight seeing and exploring. I go to the pool at least once a week. That is only gentle exercise with a client. I have come to realize it's so much the exercise but what I eat, and how much I eat.
I have uncontrolled diabetes type 2, high blood pressure and cholesterol without medication. Ironically I work as a support worker and I encourage people all day to make better choices for themselves. So this is me trying to put myself first, I want to lead by example and take some of my own advice!

Replies

• 88AViva
    88AViva Posts: 499 Member
    It is always such 🙂 that we know what's best but it's harder to do it for ourselves when no one holds us accountable. It's easier to follow through when you think you have to prove your progress 😄 or we do it just so we do not disappoint somebody else.
    It's never too late to start loving ourselves enough to choose to be uncomfortable and put in the work. (It's what I remind myself anyway). I also have a sweet tooth and a genetic risk for diabetes so whenever I have sugar cravings, I choose to replace it with tea (bought many different kinds). And when I'm too lazy to workout, I do a walking workout while I watch TV (makes 30-40 minutes of walkig in place and other small movements bearable).
    I too just joined (day 2) for the same reason, to stop halting my progress and have someone to be accountable to. Hopefully we can all make the changes we need to 🙂
  • AmyDahlTorres
    AmyDahlTorres Posts: 271 Member