WOMEN AGES 50+ FOR DECEMBER 2011

Options

Replies

• LauretteDylan
    Options
    Newish to 50's and new to this site. Like the format for this group and would like to state my initial goal is to lose 10 pounds by mid feb. Ten pounds that I want to really be off, not just the quick off (losing water weight, etc.) then they come back on overnight. I hate that, it seems my body can fluctuate up and down, day to day 5-6-7 pounds. Crazy!
    SO...ten pounds! Help motivate me and I'll help motivate you! Let's do this!
  • Wwoten1
    Options
    Three weeks ago I had my 52nd birthday. I have always struggled with my weight but in the last 6 years it has been harder than ever. I am a nurse and my work day varies from day to day. One day I will start at 5 am the next could be at 830 am. I take my lunch but more often than not I end up missing lunch. I am either doing procedures or prepping patients for procedures and we work on a tight timeline.

I am heavier than I ever have been. 10 years ago my max weight was 135 pounds. I am now at 190 and it seems no matter what I do I cannot get it off. As a result the injuries I have acquired due to military service and patient care have increased 10 fold. I need to have knee surgery to repair an injury however, due to my weight the surgeon hesitates to do surgery. This is because within a short period of time the injury will recur. I have to lose 50 pounds in order to have the surgery.

All of this has created a vicious cycle. Unable to work out as I used to due to the pain and risking increased injury it is harder to shed the weight. I can use all of the encouragement and motivation I can get. I am a good cheerleader for others, not so good at cheer leading for myself.

My guy is an Air Force Reserve Flight Nurse and is currently in Afghanistan. I would like to shed at least 10 pounds by February. That is his anticipated return date.