My Teenage Daughter

Options

Replies

• BeetleChe13
    BeetleChe13 Posts: 498 Member
    Options
    I went through a very similar situation as your step daughter when I was growing up. She may be socializing as a way to deal with the stress, but as for encouraging her to get her grades up, my mom would pay us for the grades we made. $2 for an A, $1 for a B, nothing for a C, and if you made lower than a C, you owed my mom money. :laugh: I was a straight A student anyway, but it really worked for my little sister when she saw how much she could be earning. I would definitely recommend taking an encouraging approach instead of punishment because teenagers don't need any more reason than they already think they have to become bitter or spiteful towards you. I hope this helps. :flowerforyou:
  • jrsey86
    jrsey86 Posts: 186 Member
    Options
    I want to provide a little perspective from your step-daughter's side. Having been the good/responsible kid with the rebel/way-out-of-line sister, I know how much pain she's probably in. Your step-daughter probably feels she needs to be ultra-careful about how she acts to make up for the chaos created by her sister. Judging by what you've shared with us, there has already been enough chaos in her mother's home. She may be overcompensating, trying to soothe the situation by being as non-confrontational and obedient as possible. That being said, she's stretching herself way thin socially at home in order to cope. At school, she feels safer because it's not home...and that's why she's acting out. My parents' relationship was highly dysfunctional and eventually led to a divorce. I felt much the same way that you describe your step-daughter.