Cardio vs. Strength training results (pic)

Options
Cmonnowguys
Cmonnowguys Posts: 361 Member
Here are a couple of my "during" pics. All of March I did a combo of running, Zumba and calisthenics using 7lb weights. My weight was 168.4 with close to 34% body fat. In a month I lost 6 lbs, but my body fat was still at 33%. I decided to cut back on cardio (elliptical or light running twice a week) and started the Stronglifts 5x5 power lifting program. Since then I have only lost another 3 lbs, but my body fat is now at 28%. Not to mention, I am much stronger. Here are my current stats:
Squats - 115 lb
Bench - 85 lb
Pendlay rows - 90 lb
Overhead press - 70 lb
Dead lift - 145 lb

I still have a long way to go, but hopefully my progress so far will motivate someone to pic up some weights! :)

inze36.jpg

Replies

• cherryrush
    cherryrush Posts: 12
    Options
    Looking good!
  • Trail_Addict
    Trail_Addict Posts: 1,350 Member
    Options
    Excellent progress! Looking great!
  • Colbyandsage
    Colbyandsage Posts: 751 Member
    Options
    Awesome!!!! Great job! Huge progress!
  • proudtruckersgirl
    proudtruckersgirl Posts: 42 Member
    Options
    You look fantastic. Great job. I'm already doing the weight lifting with my PT. I feel so much better even if I'm not losing weight, I'm stronger and losing inches. :) Keep it up.
  • Cmonnowguys
    Options
    Thanks guys! It's hard seeing the numbers on the scale move slower, but the reflection in the mirror makes it worth it. I'm excited to see where my progress will be in another couple of months!
  • veromancha
    veromancha Posts: 158 Member
    Options
    Thanks for posting!! I just started lifting!!
  • crisanderson27
    crisanderson27 Posts: 5,343 Member
    Options
    Awesome!!

You should post that same post, here:

http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/535512-real-mfp-women-weight-training-befores-and-afters

Good for you =D!
  • Cmonnowguys
    Options