How do I stop eating 6,000 calories??

Options
Hello,

I am new to this. I put it in most of what I ate today and it is around 5,744 (I cannot remember everything) but this program says my goal should be 1,530.

Is this right? I know I eat more than some other people but is 1,530 really manageable? I am not very active but now I think I should start! Please feel free to send me any advice.

Replies

• Heather294ever
    Options
    Very manageable, choose different foods, educate yourself on low calorie food, keep the tally on myfitnesspal :)
  • oOTaraOo
    oOTaraOo Posts: 29
    Options
    1530 sounds correct.

You need to eat more protein which will fill you up for longer. Cut back on sugar and fast foods. Eat more vegies.
  • iKapuniai
    iKapuniai Posts: 594 Member
    Options
    1500 is definitely manageable. People somehow even manage 1200... don't know how, but they do lol
    I would suggest breaking your meals up into 4 or 5 meals of maybe 300-400 calories each, and map them out throughout the day. Schedule feeding times every 3 to 4 hours and stick to it. Make sure what you eat is full of nutrients and not just empty calories.

Also, if you aren't active, I'd suggest becoming active. The more exercise you incorporate into your life, the more calories you're allowed to eat... so if you aren't able to stick to 1500 calories a day, try working out for 30 minutes a day to start... often times 30 minutes would give you an additional 200-300 calories, depending on the exercise and intensity, bringing your calorie allowance to around 1800... which means more food lol

Aaaaand if you DO decide to become more active - do the cardio to burn fat and give you more calories to eat, but also find a way to work in some strength training/weights to maintain muscle mass... ultimately burning more calories in the long run. ;)

Good luck on your journey!

Love and Alohas,
    Ihilani Kapuniai
  • naasirab
    naasirab Posts: 43
    Options