A Question About Sugar

Options
I'm a total newbie when it comes to counting calories. I've never done it before and still have a lot to learn so please excuse me if this is a stupid question.

I understand that a calorie deficit is what is behind losing the weight. But where does sugar fit in? I try to be mindful of my sugar count, but it's sometimes over by a couple numbers or if I'm dealing with a lot of stress my calories could be under, but the sugar is way over. How does this affect my weight loss?

Replies

• GaleHawkins
    GaleHawkins Posts: 8,160 Member
    edited December 2014
    Options
    JesslanRose it varies from person to person.

In my case after a lifetime of abusing carbs I found I was not willing to refrain from sugar when the cravings would hit. I had to give up all sugar then after a couple week the cravings started to cease.

Basically I replaced the carbs with Fat and try to do 90-120 grams of protein daily.

This is just my story but I expect many can take sugar or leave it.
  • NoelFigart1
    NoelFigart1 Posts: 1,276 Member
    edited December 2014
    Options
    Calories are a way to measure food energy. (Well, approximately). Fat is stored food energy. There are about 3500 calories in every pound of fat (more or less). If you consume fewer calories than your body needs for energy, your weight will go down.

The point of breaking down macronutrients (Sugar, protein, fat, etc) is that you want a balance. You need protein for certain bodily functions, you need carbohydrates for energy and you need fats for your endocrine system (among others) to work correctly.

So, long story short, eating too much sugar but being under on calories is unlikely to interfere with your weight loss unless you find that eating a lot of sugar/carbohydrate causes a cycle of you wanting more and more and overeating calories. (This happens to some people. Others seem less affected by that sort of thing).

• malibu927
    malibu927 Posts: 17,565 Member