Let's Talk Steaks

Options

Replies

• dbmata
    dbmata Posts: 12,950 Member
    Options
    3laine75 wrote: »
    dbmata wrote: »
    Either today or tomorrow I'm picking up a ribeye primal which I'll wet age, I think. I have too many meat projects right now. However, I'd love to try butter poaching and then giving a hard sear with a torch.

Seems legit, right?

I'm such an amateur :(
    Naw, don't judge off of me, I used to be a pro, now I'm just a pro-am mucker.
  • dbmata
    Options
    Acg67 wrote: »
    Sous vide is a good tool, but in the hands of an oaf it is overdone. I've been doing it hillbilly style for a while, I'd like a legit unit finally.

The longer you let it hang, the more tender it gets. You can also get a little of this from an enzyme you find in papaya.

Here in the US in general, I think beef is generally sub 1 week old when it gets to the market. Just too young for a good flavor, which is why even supermarket beef gets damn good after aging.

I have a sansaire immersion circulator, works well. I'll use a 4.75 gal cambro for large or long cooking projects and just a pot if it's something like chicken breast.

Any tips or ideas you have, I'd dig. Any books for research as well.

I have this in the mail:
    http://www.williams-sonoma.com/products/polyscience-sous-vide-professional-creative-series/
  • snowflake930
    snowflake930 Posts: 2,188 Member
    Options
    Rib eye. Grilled, salt, pepper, a little onion powder.
    The only beef I eat now (since being on MFP) is rib eye steak.
    Well worth the calories and a culinary treat for me now.
  • goddessofawesome
    goddessofawesome Posts: 563 Member
    edited December 2014
    Options
    The thread on eating in restaurants led to some interesting contributions on steaks, so let's talk steak.

What cut(s) is(are) your preference? - Rib Eye or New York Strip
    -
    How do you prepare it usually? Grilled. BLUE please! (It is SO HARD to get restaurants to figure this one out)