Recomposition: Maintaining weight while losing fat

Replies

• ExRelaySprinter
    ExRelaySprinter Posts: 874 Member
    I don't have any research, but I'll post my results here. I've been recomping for about 2 years. I have chronic illness and eating at a deficit can be too much stress on my system.

On the left I was 125 lbs, 24% body fat according to the Eat, Train, Progress body fat estimation thread. On the right I'm still 125 lbs but 2 sizes smaller.

eratv3u3d0sb.png

e34ba407-6e5a-47d6-903c-59c82d5f512b_zps3cf7062a.png

I think you looked pretty good in the left pic! ;)
    But well done on dropping 2 sizes though.
    Very interesting thread that i'll keep my eye on.
  • cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,879 Member
    Thanks for the info :) I looked into this, but since I do body-weight strength training and not heavy lifting, I don't think it would work for me, bummer!

you don't have to lift "heavy"...I go through cycles of "heavy" strength training, but they are generally pretty short in duration as truly "heavy" cycles are very taxing and leave me with very little in the tank to do the other fitness things I enjoy.

As lifting goes, I primarily do Oly work as I find it very beneficial for my cycling and cyclocross. For the most part, this work is done at about 60% of my max and my assistance work is typically done with a 12/6/3 undulating periodization. I usually save my "heavy" work for the winter when I don't really want to be out on my bike or on the hiking trails, etc quite as much and being tanked from my lifts is no big deal. I also do some cycles of primarily light weight/high rep and/or body weight work as well...usually in the fall when I'm doing cyclocross (not that I'm remotely competitive).