Why Aspartame Isn't Scary

Options

Replies

• diannethegeek
    diannethegeek Posts: 14,776 Member
    Options
    Just bumping this old thread. Nothing to see here.
  • diannethegeek
    diannethegeek Posts: 14,776 Member
    Options
    Just bumping this old thread. Nothing to see here.
  • Alyssa_Is_LosingIt
    Alyssa_Is_LosingIt Posts: 4,696 Member
    Options
    Eff it. I'm bumping this one, too. Because reasons.
  • Leslierussell4134
    Leslierussell4134 Posts: 376 Member
    Options
    Aaron_K123 wrote: »
    In case it is relevant my background is a Ph.D. in molecular biology with a focus on protein biochemistry. 9 years of research experience with 5 years of infectious disease drug development research part of which is performing toxicology assays on potential drugs. In my opinion there is no evidence or reason to suspect mechanistically that aspartame is toxic or carcinogenic.

I do NOT think that expertise or background is proof that someone is correct so I invite anyone and everyone who is interested to look into this yourself. I just mention it because I know I will likely be asked.

Thank you for the information, I love these topics, bio, Chem and patho. Just beats watching a new mini series on TV!! I'm going to look into it myself and deepen my understanding. Keep it coming!
  • Azexas
    Azexas Posts: 4,334 Member
    Options
    daily bump
  • Alyssa_Is_LosingIt
    Options
    And bump.
  • wanttobefit300
    wanttobefit300 Posts: 157 Member
    Options
    Well, I suffered for 5-6 years with neuropathy in my feet until a friend suggested it might be aspartame. I didn't believe it because I used so little. However, when I quit as a trial, I started having withdrawal symptoms that were unbelievable! Needless to say, I never used it again. Still have problems with the neuropathy (damaged nerves don't come back easily), but now have a medication that helps with it. Also, after quitting aspartame, my cholesterol dropped another 15 points.