breastfeeding in public

Options

Replies

• cobracars
    cobracars Posts: 949 Member
    Options

I think the ones who choose to breastfeed publicly are crying for attention, and they are sure to get it.

Poor choice of words on my part!
    I intended to say the ones WHO ARE PROTESTING AND CALLING THE MEDIA are crying for attention. "breastfeeding publicly" was meant as those who are deliberatly drawing attention to themselves.
  • BrooklynBeast
    Options

it is definitely one of those topics!

the reason i posted this is because i'm against it in public. i understand it's natural and it's the best for your baby. i am a nursing student so i've been taught that over and over. i don't think it should be done in public however. it's not because it's sexual at all, it's just because it should be a private thing between you and your baby. i don't care to see you take your breast out in public and have your baby latch onto it. if i'm in your hospital room or your house, i have no problem with it. but i dislike seeing it in public. i also know i will not breastfeed my future children so that might also have something to do with it as well.

You sound like a prude and sexually repressed. I couldn't care less when and where a mother breastfeeds her baby. If I happen to catch sight of a woman breastfeeding her child, the only thing going through my mind is what a lucky and healthy child and responsible mom.

As far as it being a private thing - Why is that so? We all eat in public and babies should be able to do the same. What difference does it make whether it is from the nipple of a bottle or a breast. Only human beings have such stupid attitudes towards the human body and how exposure of such should be shameful.

So to all you breastfeeding woman - Go for it. Anytime, anyplace, whenever it is necessary. No need to go to a grungy, smelly bathroom on my account.
  • ajbeans
    ajbeans Posts: 2,857 Member
    Options
    Shouldn't this be in the debate group?