What do you burn with your chest strap HRM?

Options

Replies

• just2liveagain
    Options
    Great Topic and know where your coming from, just a question I'm not sure about.

I got the Polar F4 recently and say you exercise for 30mins and check the watch
    should you be IN Zone for the full 30 mins, what way does that work.

Granted I'm new to this whole HRM thing, lol but if I'm reading your question right, no I don't think you should be "in the zone" for the whole 30 minutes if the video is only 30 min long. For example my turbo jam workout video I exercised 44 minutes, but was only in the zone 33 minutes, so for a 30 minute video I would think around 20-23 maybe you'd be in the actual zone, accounting for warm and cool down within those 30 min in which you're HR is not up. Hope that helps, if not I'm sorry lol
  • SarahMorganP
    SarahMorganP Posts: 921 Member
    Options
    I just got my Polar F7 last week and I have found that during my walks I burn a lot more than what MFP says. The HRM says I burn 145 calories for a 20min walk but MFP says 90. But the HRM says less when I do the elliptical. HRM says 200 for 20min on the elliptical but closer to 300 on the machine and here on MFP. I am glad that my calorie burns are higher while walking than I thought because that is what I do every day.
  • Olive32214
    Olive32214 Posts: 543 Member
    Options
    Great Topic and know where your coming from, just a question I'm not sure about.

Granted I'm new to this whole HRM thing, lol but if I'm reading your question right, no I don't think you should be "in the zone" for the whole 30 minutes if the video is only 30 min long. For example my turbo jam workout video I exercised 44 minutes, but was only in the zone 33 minutes, so for a 30 minute video I would think around 20-23 maybe you'd be in the actual zone, accounting for warm and cool down within those 30 min in which you're HR is not up. Hope that helps, if not I'm sorry lol