What do you burn with your chest strap HRM?

Options
12346»

Replies

• bek416
    bek416 Posts: 9 Member
    Options
    I don't trust what my new ft7 said I burned in step class this morning. I know I push, and I still have about 30 pounds to lose... but it seemed as though my heart rate seemed high... often high 180s and even 190. I found myself dropping my risers to bring it down... which it did... but only by about 10 bps. This is a class I have been doing for 4 years and is very intense... but not THAT intense... Even with my extra weight.

I read another forum that said to tighten your strap if your rate seems high so I am going to try that next time. My high was 193 with an average of 174 and that was because I was deliberately trying to bring it down which was a little boring for me... I like to get into it! I want to trust my HRM... bot I don't think I burned over 600 calories in 50 minutes of step... no matter how intense.... I am 42 and have all my stats entered correctly... and I even raised my max heart rate in the settings as advised on another MFP thread to get more accurate stats.... I know it will take awhile, but I really want to figure this thing out!

Have you ever used a HRM before though? The reason I ask is because out perceived rate of exertion is often much higher than what our heart rate says. In other words, we don't have to work as hard as we thought to stay in that fat burning zone. When we go above that percentage, my understanding was always that we were getting into protein stores to get the energy needed to sustain this higher heart rates. I only have interest in burning fat, and not working too hard. When we work too hard, we run the risk of overtraining, injury or just plain hating the exercise we are doing. This is exactly why I bought one, because as I suspected, I was working harder than I needed to be and since I am genuinely trying to make this a way of life, I want don't want to burn out.
  • PoochPottery
    Options