How many women on here are lifting weights????????

Options

Replies

• Health_Gal
    Health_Gal Posts: 718 Member
    Options
    If you lift reasonable amounts of weight, like they advise you to do in the Body Pump, Group Power, and similar classes, you won't have to worry about bulking up too much. I've been doing that for about 3 years, and have not had any problems looking too muscular.

Just avoid extreme, heavy lifting like some of those Crossfit women do, and you should be fine.
  • sguinn75
    sguinn75 Posts: 14
    Options
    I lift twice a week for an hour each time. I can vouch for not bulking up. It's taking everything I have and making it tighter and sleeker. I can lift and move things I never thought possible, including my patients. IT'S AWESOME!
  • aj_gettingfit
    Options
    13949341_8885.jpg

There is no bulking for woman when weight lifting unless you are actually training to bulk and taking supplements for it...

I weight lift 3 times a week, not like a girl either - last night during my lower body workout I leg pressed 260lbs and squatted 200 lbs...

I am currently at 136.6 lbs fitting in a 3/4 (5/6 depending on brand of course) pair of jeans...

So don't be afraid girl - bodybuilding.com has awesome 12 week plans which gives you a great balance between cardio and lifting (all for free)

Are you doing the Jamie Eason plan? I really like her 12 wk program. I just started it a few weeks ago.
  • Health_Gal
    Options
    I can't even imagine wanting to lift in the 200 pound range. I would not want to risk the kind of injury you can get from lifting that heavy..

Personally, I prefer doing light to moderate weights with a lot of repeats like they do in the Body Pump and Group Power classes.
  • rockerbabyy
    rockerbabyy Posts: 2,258 Member
    Options
    I can't even imagine wanting to lift in the 200 pound range. I would not want to risk the kind of injury you can get from lifting that heavy..