Home school vs public school?

Options

Replies

• hedgiie
    hedgiie Posts: 1,245 Member
    Options
    I know a number of young people from my church that were home schooled and are now either in college or have graduated from college and have successful careers.

And I know a larger percentage of young people who attended public/private school who have gone on to become major successes as well.

in my opinion, at the end, whatever it is, it's the parent's responsibility to lead the child.
  • AbsoluteNG
    AbsoluteNG Posts: 1,079 Member
    Options
    The education of home school is generally just as good or better then going to public school. Normally when you are home schooled, you are still required to go to a testing center in order to make sure you are learning what you're suppose to be learning. I know each state is different but that's how it generally works.
  • Koorogi
    Koorogi Posts: 21 Member
    Options
    I was home schooled from second grade until I graduated and for me personally, it was great. I am now schooling both of my children, grades 2 and 3, at home as well and they've said they wouldn't have it any other way. Though I am always open to what they would like and what works best for all of us as a family.

Currently, I am using the K12 curriculum program through CAVA (located in CA), which is a virtual academy offered through the state. It is free to enroll, free to join, all curriculum is included (free) and they even loan you a computer as well as a printer/scanner/copier if needed. There are no shipping charges either. On top of that, they send you a check to help compensate for your internet usage. There are also field trips, events, etc. available.

If you have any questions, I would be happy to offer up more information. I think that it's something that is not for everyone, but I loved it.
  • hedgiie
    hedgiie Posts: 1,245 Member
    Options