The "Dieting" dilema; bad food, worse ideas.

Options

Replies

• Amy_B
    Amy_B Posts: 2,323 Member
    Options
    Banks--Did you learn all this stuff just through your own experiences, or do you have other knowledge (i.e. a degree)? I am just curious because I love the info, and I sometimes wonder if I shouldn't have stayed in the field I was in during college (dietitics).
  • SHBoss1673
    SHBoss1673 Posts: 7,161 Member
    Options
    Banks--Did you learn all this stuff just through your own experiences, or do you have other knowledge (i.e. a degree)? I am just curious because I love the info, and I sometimes wonder if I shouldn't have stayed in the field I was in during college (dietitics).

no formal education in nutrition or even biochemistry. I was a chemical engineer in college for 3 plus years (hated the advanced math, so finally switched to computer science), which taught me how to read clinical studies and understand the interactions between chemicals. Believe it or not, the metabolism is basically just a very complex chemical reaction between multiple compounds.
    What this gave me is the ability to seek out and read the documentation that is out there from the source. I have no need to read and article and have to believe the slant that a particular "journalist" puts on it. I can hear about a topic, go find the actual clinical documentation, and read it for myself and come to my own conclusions. Being a very data oriented person, I tend to accumulate facts, and compile them in my head.
    It doesn't take a clinical dietitian to learn about human nutrition, it just takes a little bit of elbow grease, the facts are out there, they are just very disjointed (I Blame the FDA and other government organizations like WHO for this!). If you take the time to pull together all the data, and the understanding of how to read and dissect it then anyone can have just as much (and more, much more) knowledge as I do on the subject.
  • hasiangirl