Gun owners?

Options

Replies

• KrissieLynn371
    KrissieLynn371 Posts: 12 Member
    Options
    I just got a S&W M&P Shield 9 MM. Love it. I tried out about 12 different guns before settling on this one. Lightweight, less than 1" thick, and holds well. Definitely shoot before you buy if at all possible...the one I thought I wanted, based on looks, I hated when I shot.
  • trackercasey76
    trackercasey76 Posts: 780 Member
    Options
    CC weapon look at the LCP or the TCP in .380
  • wellbert
    wellbert Posts: 3,924 Member
    Options
    .22 is great for shooting paper targets. Some are super accurate.

I'd go for 9mm though.
  • dmurphy1975
    dmurphy1975 Posts: 45 Member
    Options
    As a shooting sports instructor I tell everyone that when they find the right gun they will know it. You need to go to a reputable gun shop and try as many models as needed to find the one that feels right for you. When you find it you will know.
  • recriger
    recriger Posts: 245 Member
    Options
    My hubby wants to get me a gun for Christmas and I'm not sure what I want. He's away this week on a hunting trip in the arctic circle and left me his .357 just in case! I have my gun permit and am a fabulous shot according to dh and my dad. :smile:

Just wondering what is a good gun for personal defense. I want something lightweight and not a lot of kick to it. My dad suggested a .22 revolver.

Just looking for suggestions! Thank you!
    The .357 is a wonderful weapon. It is what I personally carry for protection.
    If excessive kick is the issue, load it with .38 rounds.

^^This^^
    I have a .38 Special I call the "Noisy Cricket" after the Men In Black movies. Kicks like a tiny mule. I also have a .357 that kicks like a medium size mule. BUT since it is perfectly fine to use 38 Special rounds in a .357 the kick is now closer to a barefoot 3 yr old. That heavier frame absorbs quite a bit even though the .357 I have isn't much larger than the .38.