Forced flu shot at work

Options

Replies

• cgarand
    cgarand Posts: 541 Member
    Options
    I'm a nurse too and I think it's a terrible practice! We should be able to decline the flu shot if we don't want it. The flu shot is not 100% effective. There have been quality control issues that have led to shortages in recent years. It should be entirely elective. I have had employee health nurses chase me around with a needle and a piece of chocolate as if I'm a wild animal that is tamed by a fun sized kit kat bar!
  • cgarand
    cgarand Posts: 541 Member
    Options
    It bothers me that drugs are the answer to everything. Why don't they enforce healthy eating and exercise. They would rather put donuts and pizza in the breakroom for everyone and then mandate a shot. It makes no sense to me!!

I love this post, you don't even know how much!
  • cramernh
    cramernh Posts: 3,335 Member
    Options
    I work in healthcare right now and they do their best to push you into having it.

I have already advised Employee Health that under no certain terms will I ever have the flu shot. The first (and only) time I had the shot was about 8 years ago and I was dreadfully sick, stuck in bed for three days. Made our PCP aware of it to get it documented . My daughter had her first along with me and she was sick as a dog. You simply cannot tell me you cant get sick from having that shot.... sorry, not when both my daughter and I cant function.