The Difference 3lbs Can Make (w/ before & after pics)

Options
elzianne
elzianne Posts: 52 Member
[Disclaimer: this is my first time posting photos, so if I don't do it correctly, I apologize! Still a n00b over here]

I'm a bit nervous about sharing pictures of myself in a bikini with total strangers, but I feel like I have a message worth sharing. I still have a ways to go from my final goal, but I wanted to share my progress so far. Over the past 2.5 years, I've only seen the slightest shift on the scale... losing a total of 3lbs. It's been discouraging at times, but I have taken a few pictures here and there to remind myself that the scale doesn't give you the complete picture.

THE BACKSTORY:
I first starting getting serious about losing weight after my freshman year of college when I was diagnosed with PCOS. I wasn't obese, but at nearly 170lbs, I was not an a healthy weight for my height (I'm just shy of 5'6). I've always tried to eat healthy, but I would frequently find myself struggling with binging / emotional eating. At the time, I didn't exercise consistently and just generally didn't take great care of myself. I can't find a picture of when I was at my absolutely heaviest, but here's a picture after I first started losing weight and was about 165lbs:
40_504101654772_6977_n_zps333ac57b.jpg
By the end of college, I was down to about 145lbs. Sure, it took me almost 3 years to lose 25lbs, but with a slow and steady approach, I was losing weight while also gaining a healthy lifestyle that was sustainable. I was able to get off my PCOS meds and saw a huge improvement to my health both physically and mentally.
196924_1606495611704_5763013_n_zpsbe311cd9.jpg
However, I still wanted to lose a final 10lbs to get down to my goal of 135lbs!

LOSING 3LBS: