Is it possible to lose fat and gain muscle?

Options

Replies

• sijomial
    sijomial Posts: 19,811 Member
    edited March 2015
    Options
    Damirov wrote: »
    I am thinking if its possible by cutting some kcal intake and carbs? Can achieve that? How has an expetience on that?
    Thanks

Losing fat and gaining muscle concurrently is normally called recomp these days although when I started training it was just what nearly everyone did (bulk cut cycles were sole preserve of body builders). Whether it's the better choice for you depends on your goals.

Your calories determine weight loss/gain/maintenance.
    Cutting carbs is a red herring - you can recomp with high carb, low carb or whatever (personal choice), personally I would be wary of cutting carbs in case it affects your training performance. Adequate protein is far more significant.

Really it's eating at or around maintenance - if your weight loss/gain is very slow I would still call it recomp. There's a guy on the Stronglifts site for example who very clearly gained good amounts muscle in 3 months and lost fat with a tiny surplus (1lb/month weight gain). More than likely he is genetically gifted though!

For me over 6 months lost 7.5lbs of fat, gained 3.5lbs of LBM for net loss of 4lbs of weight. But that is for me (old, training mostly prioritised on my cycling season, 40 training years, a bit restricted in terms of the big compound lifts due to injuries). You are much younger - but no idea of your current training status or bodyfat which both have a big bearing on speed of progress.

Train hard, eat well and enjoy the ride.
  • 3laine75
    3laine75 Posts: 3,070 Member
    Options
    Lgabrjolek wrote: »
    Just to clarify. Lean muscle is different from 'bulky muscle'

BWAHAHAHA

• ILiftHeavyAcrylics
    ILiftHeavyAcrylics Posts: 27,732 Member
    Options