Intermittent fasting, I don’t get it

Replies

• jwalcutt1
    jwalcutt1 Posts: 5 Member
    I think you would be surprised at how many people dont eat in that small of a window. Most people will wake up for work and have breakfast or at least coffee with cream and sugar (this starts your eating window since it has calories) then to eat everything for the day within 8 hours of that is tough. I fast when I can because I like it. It can be hard for me because I'm a resturant manager and my work day changes every day. I find this helps balance that for me and helps me focus on not eating to late.
  • howan
    howan Posts: 27 Member
    lgfrie wrote: »
    There's a lot of disdain or at least gentle dismissal for IF in this thread, so allow me to present an alternative viewpoint, as a person who has been doing 16:8 for five months, after trying various other diet efforts over the years that weren't nearly as effective (i.e. they "failed", whereas this effort has been extremely successful and is still going as strong today as the day I started it).

Yes, IF is not "magic". It's just another Way Of Eating. There are many of those.

Yes, you still need a calorie quota. I've been using the MFP-supplied calorie quota and pairing that with an IF structure. There are people who say you can just eat what you want on IF, but that doesn't make sense. Obviously, you will lose weight in accordance with your calorie deficit, no matter how and when you choose to eat.

Yes, the impact on insulin, diabetes, etc, can be debated, and some of the rampant online discussion about that stuff seems to have more of a "pop science" hype flavor than real medical value.

So ... then why IF?

1. First and foremost...