is it "disrespectful" to not have kids?

Replies

• 41,no kids, got myself fixed years ago.

I love kids too much to be a dad!

Oh yeah, I have an Elementary Ed degree too, so I really do love kids.

Scary thought for ya....we have a friend that has 6 kids. Yes, they wanted each and every one. He decided after #6 he'd get fixed 2 years ago. Got a call Monday...#7 is on the way! He went back to be checked after the surgery and everything was fine!

Makes me nervous. Husband did that almost 2 years ago as well. Everything was fine then....
  • jillyt85
    jillyt85 Posts: 161 Member
    People get freaked out when others don't follow social norms. They are often closed minded and conservative. (Which seem to go hand in hand :P lol). Don't worry about it, it scares them because they can't see themselves diverting from the norm. Good for you to stick to your guns, kids are not everyone's cup of tea and nor should they be.

I just have to say, I am very conservative, but find the opposite to be true about close minded people. Most liberals I talk to are extremely close minded. You can see from my previous response that I think the OP is very intelligent for making a decision that's right for them. People sound cloud close minded when they make fun of another party before knowing enough information.
  • jcm529
    jcm529 Posts: 36
    I'm childless by choice. Feel free to add me. It is nice to find other people who feel the same way and get treated the same way. I totally get it.
  • LikeNoOneElse84
    LikeNoOneElse84 Posts: 475 Member
    I think those same people who are upset with you for not wanting kids, are the same people who wish they didn't have kids. Who the hell gets upset with someone because they would rather not have the responsibility of children? Haters, that's who. Lol.
  • CoderGal
    CoderGal Posts: 6,800 Member