"Old Fashioned" or "Traditional" gender roles

Options

Replies

• Ryathur
    Ryathur Posts: 16
    Options
    Truthfully, this "old fashioned" and "traditional" nonsense is why I tend to prefer to date other women rather than men. When my partner and I are both the same gender, we come into this at the same level. There is no "traditions" that we have to depend on. Neither of us have to submit to the other. That makes me happy. Perhaps one of these times, I may find a man who wants the same thing.

Then again, I am "a woman who wants to be a man." I own no dresses or makeup, I am studying for a career in a male-dominated field (IT), and I don't have many "feminine" interests. I am not trying to rebel against being a woman, I am just doing what I want to do, gender roles be damned.
  • DFWTT
    DFWTT Posts: 374
    Options
    It's all that dang Mrs Baird's fault for popularizing the sammich. If there were no sammiches, there would still be women that cook and men that slapped their old lady's a$s on the way to fetch him another beer. Oh how low we have fallen for the sammich.
  • Trail_Addict
    Trail_Addict Posts: 1,350 Member
    Options
    Truthfully, this "old fashioned" and "traditional" nonsense is why I tend to prefer to date other women rather than men. When my partner and I are both the same gender, we come into this at the same level. There is no "traditions" that we have to depend on. Neither of us have to submit to the other. That makes me happy. Perhaps one of these times, I may find a man who wants the same thing.

Then again, I am "a woman who wants to be a man." I own no dresses or makeup, I am studying for a career in a male-dominated field (IT), and I don't have many "feminine" interests. I am not trying to rebel against being a woman, I am just doing what I want to do, gender roles be damned.

No one forces you into a traditional or modern role. That is your choice. I've never heard that as a reason to for switching sides.
  • abberbabber