Not Hating, Why Do Women Struggle With The Gym?

Options

Replies

• UpEarly
    UpEarly Posts: 2,555 Member
    Options
    I'm a woman. I have NEVER 'struggled' at the gym. What do you even mean by 'struggling' - straining to lift too heavy weights, not going fast enough and getting out of breath on the treadmill, crying because they don't fit in, or not doing the workouts you've personally judged to be valuable/appropriate?

I'm 42 now, and I started lifting weights as a 16 year old. That said... I no longer go to the gym because I simply don't need to. I've found I get better quality workouts on my own. I can lift weights at home. I hike, backpack, bike, run and participate in other activities that challenge me physically. I don't care about losing weight. I don't need to lose weight. I care about my health and happiness.

And why do you even care about what women do/think at the gym? Pay attention to your own workouts and goals, and let others do their thing.
  • dlavato
    Options
    I do not mind the gym the reason why I do not use the gym is because I would lack motivation because I do not know the proper routines to do while in a gym that is why I stay at home and turn to the at home DVD's.
  • kelly_e_montana
    kelly_e_montana Posts: 1,999 Member
    Options
    Because I hate being looked at by guys whether they think I look good or not...And anyone who tells me guys aren't ever looking at women in the gym are straight up lying. I have been a bartender for years and I listen to guys talk casually all day every day as a full-time job and I know what they look at, when they look at it, what they say now, and what they say later. I am a professional eavesdropper. It's biology and natural and I don't want to be part of it. I love going to the gym but I specifically go into an area that is not frequented by a lot of guys and I feel comfortable and able to concentrate on my workout.
  • leaaa92
    leaaa92 Posts: 164 Member
    Options