Language Does Matter!

Options

Replies

• JDMPWR
    JDMPWR Posts: 1,863 Member
    Options
    I'm an ESL teacher, and it SHOCKS me that native speakers mistake you're/your and their/there/they're.
    That shocks you? They're three words that sound the same, it doesn't surprise me that some people get it confused. I know the difference but that doesn't mean that you won't ever catch me accidentally typing there when I mean their.

Proper grammar comes naturally to some of us, so it's easy to not realize that it really can be a struggle for some people. It doesn't mean that they don't care or that they're stupid and it certainly isn't a reason to start feeling better about yourself.

Why not worry about real problems and not petty things like how someone spells or types...this isn't a classroom.

I'm sorry. We just don't agree on this. When I speak to someone that is well spoken and intelligent it makes me think much more fondly of them than I would otherwise.

I wish so badly that my vernacular was so much better then it is and my grammar was as good as my fathers but sadly it isn't,
  • Yanicka1
    Yanicka1 Posts: 4,564 Member
    Options
    Your brain makes me happy
  • IronmanPanda
    IronmanPanda Posts: 2,083 Member
    Options
    Proper grammar comes naturally to some of us

This simply isn't true. While people may have different capacities for learning, no one was born knowing how to spell or use proper grammar. Words are wonderful tools, and I always appreciate those who make the effort to use them correctly and effectively.

These are elementary grammar issues. Basic english taught in the US grades K-6. There is little to no excuse for these mistakes to continue into adulthood.
  • pastryari
    pastryari Posts: 8,646 Member
    Options
    I'd like to add that even those whose second [or third or fourth] language is English, tend to speak it more properly than those born here.

LOL. That's a joke.