When You Cry... They Win. Stop.

Options

Replies

• mbajrami
    mbajrami Posts: 636 Member
    Options
    This is one of the best things I have ever read...EVER. And I've read a lot of ****. Preach on, brutha. Real talk.
  • gchutson
    gchutson Posts: 657
    Options
    As a therapist I'd love it If only it were that easy. Hey depressed person, stop being being sad. Hey low self esteem person, stop giving a crap what others think or say and believe in yourself. Hey person with conflicting ideology, stop caring when someone offends you. Hey person with emotions, don't feel anything negative, just ignore it or bottle it up where this arm chair psychologist can't see it and be annoyed; oh wait I forgot he doesn't give a *kitten* enough to start his own whinny post.

Posting in a forum, writing a blog entry, talking to a friend, all of these things are a perfectly healthy ways to deal with a negative experience. The danger is when people don't process those hurts and stop sharing and stop leaving their house, or start hording, or develop an eating disorder, or start cutting.

I'm not an armchair psychologist, I'm an attorney. And nowhere in my post did I advise people to "not feel emotions." I advised people on how to not allow those emotions empower those who hurt them.
  • MB_Positif
    MB_Positif Posts: 8,897 Member
    Options
    Well said! :)
  • DeeShows
    DeeShows Posts: 8
    Options
    LOVE this post!!!!!:smile:
  • StaceyL76
    StaceyL76 Posts: 711 Member
    Options
    LOVE <3

Thanks for the tough love. ; )
  • BigAlfrn
    BigAlfrn Posts: 173 Member
    Options
    I love it. everyone should read this post every morning to begin their day!
  • jennifer52484
    jennifer52484 Posts: 888 Member
    Options
    "Hey funny joke. Now, go get a spoon so you can eat my *kitten*."

This made me crack up laughing. :laugh:
  • skinnyeascolady
    skinnyeascolady Posts: 287 Member
    Options
    all I can say is amen amen amen. Preach it!!!!!!