Strength Training PR's - Brag About Your Success

Options

Replies

• JNick77
    JNick77 Posts: 3,783 Member
    Options
    So, uh, question ... last night I did incline bench presses using 30 pound dumbbells ... two sets of 12. I'm totally new to this type of thing and was having a little trouble stabilizing the weight on the way back down ... should I go lighter weight or less reps? (Please don't mock the newbie!) =)

No, that's part of building strength with the DB Bench, stabilizing the weight. ;) Keep up the good work.
  • Mighty_Rabite
    Mighty_Rabite Posts: 581 Member
    Options
    ^That, as long as you can push the weight up, the imbalance isn't necessarily a bad thing. It's crazy how much more difficult the dumbbell presses are, pound for pound, than barbell presses.
  • chrisdavey
    chrisdavey Posts: 9,834 Member
    Options
    agree with the above.

New PB of Ukranian Deadlifts at 64kg x55 yesterday. Previous was 53
  • MoreBean13
    MoreBean13 Posts: 8,701 Member
    Options
    agree with the above.

Woot Woot! You're a machine Chris!
  • Sarauk2sf
    Sarauk2sf Posts: 28,072 Member
    Options
    agree with the above.

Fantastic.
  • JNick77
    Options
    agree with the above.

Damn dude. What are you doing, like a Repetition Effort type training day?
  • nz_deevaa
    nz_deevaa Posts: 12,209 Member
    Options
    Like I haven't shouted about it anywhere else.... 90kg x 6 on squats tonight.
  • Merrysix
    Merrysix Posts: 336 Member
    Options
    PR 25 lbs for alternating one handed kettle bell swings and 18 lbs for kettlebell snatches and cleans. I'm 59 and love kettlebells
  • chrisdavey
    chrisdavey Posts: 9,834 Member
    Options
    agree with the above.

As in, done all my low rep heavy stuff for the day. Now just see how many times I can pick something moderately heavy up before I pass out :laugh:
  • JNick77
    Options
    agree with the above.