Do you like your first name?

Options

Replies

• VelociMama
    VelociMama Posts: 3,119 Member
    Options
    Mine's Elizabeth, and I really like it.
  • My name is Dawn and I always hated it, and still do really. My family/close friends call me Dawnie, which I prefer.

I called my daughter Maya (My-a, the Spanish pronunciation) and I hope she'll like it when she's older.

Laura is not an old lady name in the UK. I'm a teacher and we have kids at school now called Laura. Lauren is also popular.

Kelsey and Kayleigh are also incredibly popular.

My name is Dawn too, and my best friend calls me Dawnie...she's the only one, and I love it!

I always hated my name growing up, though, because my family is from Southern Ohio, and with their accents, they could turn "Dawn" into a 15 syllable word!! I never knew how to pronounce my name correctly, so it always came out "Doran"....and even now at 41 years old, I sometimes overcompensate and people think I said "Lynn". ugh.
  • debbiekuhn123
    debbiekuhn123 Posts: 67 Member
    Options
    My name is Debbie & i've always liked it :)
  • LaMujerMasBonitaDelMundo
    Options
    My name is Jaclyn & I hate it very much that I get really mad whenever I'm being called by that. It sounds too girly for me & I'm a tomboy type.
  • ashdred
    ashdred Posts: 95 Member
    Options
    My name is Ashley.

Oh, how I hated thee. Every girl born in the mid-80's seemed to have the same name. With that being said, I couldn't just be Ashley. I had to be....black, brown-skin, short, chubby, the cheerleader, crazy Ashley. I went through a period in middle school which my teachers accepted with out a problem, where I changed the spelling to Ash-Lee. SOMETHING to stand me a part.

And, on top of that, my last name was Williams. I went to a college that didnt understand the importance of middle initials that had six girls with the same name. Imagine the billing issues...