Options

Replies

• blktngldhrt
    blktngldhrt Posts: 1,053 Member
    Options
    jenjay8045 wrote: »
    RGv2 wrote: »
    Just putting this out there...If you do a low carb lifestyle, eventually you will run out of this "water weight" You cannot lose 85 pounds of "just" water weight in 6 months. How do I know???? Because I am living freaking proof! UGH. So tired of all these so called experts here....OP if LOw carb helps keep you balanced, do it and when you eat your carbs eat the good ones found in fres veggies and quality grains... Best of luck! :)

No kidding. No one has said that.

No they didnt say that specifically but several posts said the weight lost from low carb was just water weight. So my response was I have been doing low carb for roughly 6 months with occasional cheat meals and once in a while a complete all out carb fests. Yet I am still losing as soon as I eat on plan again.

The initial drop in weight from low carb is usually water weight.
  • ndj1979
    ndj1979 Posts: 29,139 Member
    Options
    ndj1979 wrote: »
    I don't understand where a certain poster in this thread is coming from with her blanket ideas on middle aged women. In the throes of menopause here. I have CFS, fibromyalgia, a dodgy thyroid, and psoriatic arthritis, so I know from fatigue. And guess what? My body rebelled against eating low carb.

I've done Atkins and paleo. I'm now a moderate carb, high-protein vegetarian and feel better for it. And I'm losing weight. I also exercise, even with my medical conditions. My loss might be slow, but it's happening.

This is what works for me. I'm not going to come on here and pretend that my age or my conditions or anything made me overweight other than eating too much food (well, 30 extra pounds did happen the last time my thyroid tanked). And the only thing that is going to fix the problem is eating less and moving more. I eat the way I do because I digest this type of food well and I enjoy what I eat. That's it.