I am a Chef who is into Nutrition and Fitness. Ask me anything...

Options

Replies

• sixxpoint
    sixxpoint Posts: 3,529 Member
    edited May 2015
    Options
    Duplicate post.
  • SophiaSerrao
    SophiaSerrao Posts: 234 Member
    Options
    See my question, please, nine posts up! :flowerforyou: :mrgreen:
  • Chewitz
    Chewitz Posts: 217 Member
    Options
    Have fatty liver disease and pcos. So got to watch fat and carbs
  • lhanson777
    lhanson777 Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    sixxpoint wrote: »
    Go!
    I have an iron question. I am anemic and am making every attempt to get my necessary iron from healthy food not supplements. The app seems to have a much lower count on food iron content than other sources. Have you noticed this?? Thank you

• auntstephie321
    auntstephie321 Posts: 3,586 Member
    Options
    What's the best way to make a fresh non bitter tomato sauce? My boyfriend is ultra picky about red sauce as he is used to what his Italian grandmother used to make (of course she didn't pass along a recipe) I've tried a thousand variations and even when I find one I like the second time I make it, it seems to come out different or not have as much depth to it or taste bitter.

Hello! Tomatoes or tomato sauce shouldn't be bitter. They are innately acidic with some sweetness to them. Anyhow, here is something you can try that won't involve the hassle or inconsistency of using fresh tomatoes...

Two, 28 oz. cans crushed plum tomatoes
    1 heaped tbsp. tomato paste
    2 small onions, fine dice
    1 clove garlic, crushed
    2 medium stalks celery, pureed in a food processor
    1/2 bunch basil, leaves, cut
    Olive oil
    Kosher salt and fresh cracked black pepper
    1 bay leaf
    1 tsp. red pepper flakes (optional)

1. Open the canned tomatoes and with clean hands, crush the plum tomatoes into smaller pieces. Set aside with the juice.