August 2018 Running Challenge

Options

Replies

• dreamer12151
    dreamer12151 Posts: 1,031 Member
    Options
    So this is all self diagnosed, but as a former LMT, (& nurses aide) I think I have a pretty good idea of what is physically going on. True, I'm not a doctor or NP, but I when I read through different sources, go back to my old books & such, I think I'm a least in the right ball park anyways.

After my run yesterday, I felt a nice, sharp pain in my right hip. Did not go away throughout the day or evening, and is still with me today. When I move, do self manipulations or stretches I am oh so aware that it is inflamed. Ya, I think I've got a case of acute hip bursitis. Dang it.

Its all my fault, I've not been as stringent - ok, I've not stretched out after my runs this past week or so, and I've ignored my body's signals to take time, stretch &/or yoga it out. But with my monthly goal set higher (I know, "injuries" come 1st) because I have that "Revenge" 5K in a few weeks, just how long should I take off running to let it get better?

I am on a rest day today, plan was to run tomorrow & Tuesday, rest Wed. (run 2 days, rest 1 routine) Now thinking plan is just doing Yoga tomorrow & seeing how it goes for Tuesday, either yoga, swim or run if I feel up to it, rest Wed, then back running on Thur? Or is that pushing it?

Hips are complicated! When mine hurts it's usually IT band, and when my husband's hurts it's usually piriformis. Do you like your shoes?

I usually find running with mild hip aches is fine for me and even improves it, but it depends very much on what the problem is. Sharp pain sounds bad. It won't hurt you to get a few more days of rest.

Ya, my shoes are fine, been running on them since the beginning of the year. They are the upgraded version of the shoes I've been running in for a while. (Brooks Adrenaline GTS 18).