Teacher Criticisms...(rant)

Options

Replies

• FitFi74
    FitFi74 Posts: 129 Member
    Options
    I love that so many teachers a responding during the school day (as am I). My kids are in an elective right now and I am finishing lunch. I just hope for the rep of teachers everywhere that there are other good reasons why so many teachers can take time from their day to access MFP!!! :P
    UK teacher - 19.31 here!
  • Shannon2714
    Shannon2714 Posts: 843 Member
    Options
    So my suggestion would be to pay actual "here for the kids" teachers more, a lot more, like tons more, and weed out all the teachers that chose the profession for the summer vacations, because the bad ones always end up giving the good ones a bad name, no matter what proffesion you're in. And Kudos to all the teachers that are worth their weight in gold.

AGREED!!!
  • ARDuBaie
    ARDuBaie Posts: 379 Member
    Options
    First off, I am a teacher.

I teach in a community/technological college. I see the product of the American education system and all I can say is that if I worked on a production line and put out that kind of a product, I would be fired.

I enjoy teaching older students because they recognize the value of spelling and grammar as well as making a study schedule. They work hard and expect a lot from themselves.

The younger group, for the most part, have no clue what a study schedule is, expect to not have homework, can't spell, have no concept of capitalizing the first word of a sentence or using punctuation, and can't do simple math without a calculator. Additionally, they have no research skills, believe any of the Wiki sites are suitable for research papers, copy and paste without citations, and then wonder why I gave them an 'F' on their paper.