Cussing at/to Children

Options

Replies

• ILuvMoo
    ILuvMoo Posts: 41
    Options
    Most of us are educated enough to choose another word to replace a curse word with. We have so many words at our disposal to use. :ohwell:

Then why cut out a whole category of words and thus narrow your nice broad vocabulary? They're just words. I don't even understand how people can find enough substance in the "they're swear words" distinction to get all that worked up about it. What's going to happen if they go so mainstream that the concept of "swear words" is lost from our culture (not that such a thing would happen... swearing wouldn't be any fun anymore!) But seriously, what's the fear?

I have an English degree. I have a broad vocabulary. I know lots of writers, many with terminal degrees. And you know? Writers swear a LOT. So this isn't an "education" or a "vocabulary" failure.

Hmmmm, I didn't think I was all that worked up about it.....:huh:

You weren't... but other people do get that way. I quoted your post because you implied that cussing was "uneducated" and I wished to dispute that. I wasn't directly addressing your post the entire time; I just used it as a starting point.
  • crista_b
    crista_b Posts: 1,192 Member
    Options
    1. You are a piece of *kitten*.
    2. Your parents should have aborted you.
    3. Good fecking job out there!
    4. Get your head out of your *kitten*, and pay attention.

Context is important.

It's not the words that matter, it is how they are used. I don't consider any words bad, and I tell my children that there are appropriate/inappropriate times when certain phrases/words can be used.

^^^^ totally this. You can wound someone with words, whether or not there are swearwords among those words does not really change this much. for example:

a) you're a useless piece of s#!t, go and f***ing kill yourself

b) you're a useless piece of trash, go and kill yourself