You are currently viewing the message boards in:

Things people say when you lose weight

1161718192022»

Replies

• smantha32smantha32 Posts: 7,004Member Member Posts: 7,004Member Member
    Hollis100 wrote: »
    smantha32 wrote: »
    Hollis100 wrote: »
    I have a different point of view about store clerks and other people who have "captured" me in unwanted personal conversation. They don't do this to everybody.

When this happens to me, usually I've done something to make them think it's okay -- I've been too nice and listened too long, so they think it's okay because I allowed it to go on, at least at first.

The art of saying NO and ending things in a polite, short manner is a life survival skill. Not apologizing, not suffering in silence, just moving on and setting boundaries without burning people to the ground.

True. I'm still not good at it.

I'm not that good at it, either, but working on it.

I'm female. I grew up feeling I have to be nice to everybody, and always be polite (whatever that means). I think this is the way a lot of women grew up.

Other people can offend the crap out of me, but I'm reluctant to speak up and stop it because "I don't want to be rude" or "I don't want to cause a scene." Then I'll be mad for hours.

Nonsense. Drawing the line with people is a social skill. It's a skill just like other skills. There's nothing wrong with saying some variation of "I'm not discussing my weight, that's personal, but I appreciate your concern. Have a nice day." Then you're done with it.

I was that way too. I'm way past that part now. I'm at the "burning people to the ground" stage. lol.. no moderation anywhere. :D
  • ro175ro175 Posts: 37Member, Premium Member Posts: 37Member, Premium Member
    LAT1963 wrote: »
    ro175 wrote: »