Calorie Counter

You are currently viewing the message boards in:

Body Positive Movement - For or against?

1235»

Replies

• kimemekikimemeki Posts: 11Member Member Posts: 11Member Member
    As a health coach, I have been able to see how being "Body Positive" can be very beneficial to taking better care of yourself. You have to be grateful for what you have before you can move on in a lot of circumstances. The stress of beating yourself up about your weight can be as detrimental to your goals of gaining or losing weight as your food and exercise. I do not agree with being "Body Positive" while choosing to also be unhealthy when there are things you can do to change your health. As a small person that others have always viewed as healthy, I know first hand that what you see on the outside is not in direct correlation to what is going on inside.
  • ISmellDairyQueenISmellDairyQueen Posts: 1Member Member Posts: 1Member Member
    Yes--fat acceptance is a good thing. The people who are able to achieve total fat acceptance in their minds are my heros. The vast majority of people who attempt to lose weight end up gaining it back, so to feel good in your own body no matter what your size is important. Your body does everything for you, so why not love it as-is? Fat people get so much hate and it has nothing to do with the moving target called "health".