Intermittent Fasting Support Group?

Options

Replies

• BR1986FB
    BR1986FB Posts: 1,515 Member
    Options
    I fast every day with the LeanGains 16/8 approach. Have continued to shed weight/fat.
  • rileysowner
    rileysowner Posts: 8,164 Member
    Options
    There are several different methods of IF. If you follow Eat Stop Eat (ESE) by Brad Pilon, you would fast every day, eating all of your daily calories within a certain time window - maybe noon to 6 p.m., or whatever works for you. I personally choose to do two days a week of a 24-hour fast. The last time I ate was dinner last night, and I will have only water or a bit of coffee today until dinner tonight.

I am relatively new to IF, so I'm still learning. You can find some information at www.bradpilon.com or at www.marksdailyapple.com.... I'm sure there are other sites that people will recommend.....
    I posted this up in it's own topic but so far no one has told me anything helpful. Do any of you gain on a non-fast gain? I've "lost" 2.5lbs in two days (probably all water) and tomorrow is meant to be a non fast day for me, but I want to keep seeing that number drop so I'm tempted to fast again (fourth day in a row). What do you all think? Are you supposed to have normal days, or fast ever day? I've heard conflicting things...

Thank you for this! I hadn't seen brad's website so I'm glad you told me about it :)

I think that ESE has been confused with Leangains. Eat Stop Eat by Brad Pilon is a one or two day intermittent fast where you stop eating after supper and don't eat again until supper the next day. Then you eat a regular sized supper and continue eating normally the next day. It is designed to provide the calorie deficit through the fast.

Leangains provides a calorie deficit through counting calories, and the fast is basically extending the overnight fast we all have to about 18 hours. Then you eat all your calories in the remaining 6 hours.