MFP Runner's Club

Replies

• VballLeash
    VballLeash Posts: 2,456 Member
    Black toenails....Knee injuries....shin splints.... bleeding through your shoes ....OMG! :noway:

What the h*ll am I getting myself into with all this running!?!?! :wink:

You guys are scaring the newbie :happy: Good thing that I love it!

haha sorry about that! Running is still great, most of that is due to the wrong shoes or over used shoes so don't worry, I love running too! :happy:

~Leash :heart:
  • 12by311
    12by311 Posts: 1,716 Member
    Dang Sonia, that does stink.

I had something similar happen to me, not with a doctor though. When I had some knee pain (nothing major, just achey from a long run, I believe) and was talking about it with a co-worker. This person told me, "You aren't old...yet....but maybe you should stop running and start walking."

I've been running for about 6 years now! It's not like I just woke up and said, "I'm going to go run 7 miles today."

I want to be that 70 year old that I see running at my 5k's!
  • hessied
    hessied Posts: 460 Member
    5 miles today. sharp knee pains on mile 5. Time 47:22

Went to the orthopedic doc yesterday and he pretty much told me not to run, or to slow down and cut distance, and told me not to do squats or lunges. He then preceded to tell me that 'I should see the problems that come in his office, like people who can't walk. ' THEN he said you 'have 3 kids to take care of , why would you worry about running a marathon.' So, I'm thinking what the hell. I left furious with an order to get an MRI, and I was in tears. Long story short, I didn't go to him because i couldn't walk-- I went to him because I had knee pain when I run. Isn't it his job to fix that, or am i asking too much? Should I see a sports med doc. or will he tell me the same thing. Will all docs tell you NOT to run?

Am I supposed to sit on my *kitten* til my bones and muscles deteriorate then go to him when I'm 60.??!!