Another Thought About Milk

Options

Replies

• CoachReddy
    CoachReddy Posts: 3,949 Member
    Options

Okay, fair enough but let's discuss this here then. Let's drop the animosity at least for a few minutes. Can we at least agree that a diet made of up 80% "quality" foods (or "clean" if you like) and 20% not so "quality" or "clean" is still going to cover your bases and allow you to live a healthy, fit and, for many athletes, competitive life? It seems to be what you're doing and is at least what I strive for.

I usually shoot for 90/10, but yes, I agree with you completely.

Then on IIFYM, we don't seem to have an argument and I also agree with your approach.

As for milk, I think your concerns with milk are based on popular misconceptions. I've certainly had mine and can't fault you. I'm not a scientist though, but there are two participating in this thread and I think its worth listening to what they have to say.

Does that make sense?

the problem - unfortunately - is that I don't really buy into a lot of what the medical establishment has to say about food. for example, the food pyramid is a horribly misguided and outdated method of determining diet - but for some reason it's still widely accepted as fact.

although I'd love to know who the scientists are so I could value those opinions more highly! :)
    You're right it's outdated, that's why they don't use it anymore. They use "my plate" instead.

fair enough. the problem is that both the corn, dairy, and meat industries have the lobbyists and the subsidies that GUARANTEE that theirs is the message that gets out into the public domain. THEY fund scientific studies that support their products so they can tout them and say "such and such" is healthy. Because there's so much money to be made, not all scientific studies can just be accepted without scrutiny. It's unfortunate, but a reality.
  • WinnerVictorious
    WinnerVictorious Posts: 4,735 Member
    Options