WOMEN ages 50+ FOR JULY 2016

Options

Replies

• Katla49
    Katla49 Posts: 10,385 Member
    edited July 2016
    Options
    AnnC: I'm a retired teacher. I gained about 10 pounds every year I taught and lost about 5 pounds over each summer. You can see the graph in your mind's eye. I was finally able to do something about my weight when I found MFP, and that happened AFTER I retired. It is all about calories in, calories out. Take advantage of your summer by getting in the habit of calorie counting, and continue counting every bite and swallow in the new school year. You really need to move more and find ways to include a higher physical activity level even after you return to school. I hope you will be successful and won't have to wait for retirement to do something about your weight, as I did. Best tips: Choose a healthy diet that leaves you feeling good, but don't get suckered into buying premeasured meals. They're too expensive, often not as good quality as you can make for yourself, plus you need to learn to manage this on your own unless you plan to buy the premeasured meals for the rest of your life. Measure your portions of everything, except raw celery. :wink: (It takes more calories to digest than it contains.) I use a food scale and restaurant style dishers. There was a small investment where that was concerned, but those tools were a key factor in my success. At first I weighed every day, which is not really the greatest idea. Women here shared their practices and I now weigh about once a week, more if I feel like it. Buy a good digital scale to weigh yourself if you don't already have one. One last thing. We all hit plateaus. They're part of the process so don't let them get you down. Sometimes you can bump up your exercise a bit or lower your calories a bit to get past a plateau. :flowerforyou:

Joyce: Three cheers for the ostomy bag staying on! YAY!!! :bigsmile:

Cheri: Your realtor was a gem. I'm so glad you got the house. :smiley: