Calorie Counter

Message Boards Motivation and Support
You are currently viewing the message boards in:

WOMEN AGES 50+ FOR JANUARY 2020

1568101194

Replies

  • skuehn48skuehn48 Member Posts: 1,271 Member Member Posts: 1,271 Member
  • grandmalliegrandmallie Member Posts: 6,095 Member Member Posts: 6,095 Member
    Evening ladies 2 days back keto and getting back into the swing of things
  • Machka9Machka9 Member Posts: 17,303 Member Member Posts: 17,303 Member
    sh0tzz99 wrote: »
    Michele NC - I’m with Jess. Women products are very personal. If they don’t feel comfortable, it just makes that whole time even worse and it's annoying enough as it is. I’d want my own brands too.

    Me too ... it was something of a shock moving to Australia! I had my mother send me things from Canada for a while, and finally after about a year, I was able to find one product I was familiar with.

    sh0tzz99 wrote: »
    Scanning - I have an app on my phone and my iPad called JotNot Pro. You can scan anything and create a PDF, then email it to anyone you want. It has other file formats too. I just rarely use them. It helps me keep on top of scanning because it’s really easy to use and my phone is almost always near me. I also have a large criss cross shredder that gets a lot of use.

    I've seen something like that recently for my android phone too. Good idea.


    sh0tzz99 wrote: »
    Retirement - I had never intended to truly retire. However, I met a man who has invested wisely and helped me learn to invest, so we have the option. We are still young and I still want to work. I like what I’m doing right now and I can do it from anywhere in the world that has internet access.

    And that is what I would really like to end up doing! Working from anywhere in the world. :)

    My husband and I were very fit and active and he intended to work past his legal retirement age of 66.5 until 70, or beyond if he could. We are becoming more fit and active again, but he has been told by a neuro specialist that his chances of working again are next to none. :(

    My dream would be to move to Canada, near my family, and to be able to work from home or wherever we travelled. Theoretically, I could do my current job from home or wherever there was internet access, and a few people do, but for some reason they're reluctant to offer that to more than a small handful of people.

    @machka9 I know, some people retire in Asia or South America... I've gotten so much more tired these past few years, aside from the legal latest retirement age of 67 for the vast number of jobs here, I don't feel I should count on being up to it for more than 11 more years. if I could I'd retire now I think, or at least semi-retire and focus on art stuff. but that has always been my wish/preference.

    We spent about a week in a small town in Taiwan and I was pleasantly surprised how inexpensive things were there and how good the cycling was ... it could be an option. :)

    And yes, in an ideal world, I'd love to come into a couple million and be able to retire or semi-retire now. :grin: I'd focus on cycling and other exercise, travel, photography, my website, and whatever else caught my fancy. :grin:


    Machka in Oz
    edited January 3
  • Machka9Machka9 Member Posts: 17,303 Member Member Posts: 17,303 Member
    Machka9 wrote: »
    There's a question in the Fitness Forum:

    What was your surprise accomplishment for 2019?


    Mine:

    Probably the half marathon I ran last January!!

    I'm a cyclist, especially a long distance cyclists ... I've dabbled in running now and then, but didn't really expect to ever actually run anything as long as a half marathon!


    Machka in Oz

    Anyone else?


    What was your surprise accomplishment for 2019?


    M in Oz
  • barbiecatbarbiecat Member Posts: 14,165 Member Member Posts: 14,165 Member
    :)<3Rebecca bravo to you for your letter to your son.
    edited January 3
  • pipcd34pipcd34 Member Posts: 11,307 Member Member Posts: 11,307 Member
    stats for the day:

    apple watch only-
    no gym workout - went to wrk early

    bike ride hm 2 dome- 9.04mn, 15.9amph, 2.39mi= 82c
    bike ride puy 2 sumn station- 15.06min, 12amph, 3.02mi= 116c
    jog sta 2 wrk- 5.16min, 10.23min mi, .50mi= 82c
    jog sta 2 wrk 2 sta- 4.38min, 10.19min mi, .44mi= 64c
    bike ride dome 2 hm- 19.39min, 7.9amph, 2.59mi= \135c

    total cal 479
  • Machka9Machka9 Member Posts: 17,303 Member Member Posts: 17,303 Member
    Sitting on the porch.
    View of fields, sheep, mountains.
    Birds singing.
    Lovely!

    We're in my "happy place" in Tasmania. :)


    M in Oz
  • Machka9Machka9 Member Posts: 17,303 Member Member Posts: 17,303 Member
    Retirement - @Machka9 I’m with you, I will be working until I’m 70 for sure. This job comes with a pension for the first tome in my working life but I only have 19 years to 70. Wow that was hard to write!

    Later all
    Tracey in Edmonton

    I'll be 53 in March, so I look at it as I still have 17 and a bit years to 70. 17 years ago ... I was 36 in 2003. In 2004, I quit the job I had, spent 3 months cycling around Australia, spent some time with the person who would become my husband, and then in 2005 I started my Bachelor of Education at the University of Alberta. I've done a lot since then, so with another 17 years to go, who knows what I'll be able to accomplish!! :)

    M in Oz

  • auntiebkauntiebk Member Posts: 1,286 Member Member Posts: 1,286 Member
    "Todo"s and "done"s
    done: invest 10 mins cleaning guest bath, veg prep, 80 mins lopping, Freddie/Bi~Mart, bonus 2 loads laundry,
    to do: find/sign/scan/email grant acknowledgment letter, T’ai Chi, recycling, invest 10 mins cleaning guest room, dust LR, call Carolyn, line dance.
    Here’s my 20 for 20. Broke some of the biggies down so I won’t just give up ;)
    Number Task
    1 Complete patient history form, mail to dermatologist
    2 Change mailing address for all bills to P.O. Box
    3 Complete POST and Medical Power of Attorney. Copies to Dr. Patel and Patty
    4.1 Write loving letter
    4.2 find Oregon will form
    4.3 Decide on heirs, ask Patty if willing to be executor
    5.1 Complete Will, file with atty? Copy to executor
    5.2 Tax prep: total medical expenses
    5.3 Tax prep: total charitable contributions
    6 Tax prep: complete online soon as all paperwork received.
    7 Update medical history, copy to Dr. Patel
    8 Set up fall alert app/emergency contact on phone?
    9 Under kitchen sink: clean, mold treat, paint and re-line
    10.1 Paint rear porch
    10.2 Paint under breezeway
    11 Paint rear trim
    12 Take Shadow through CGC training.
    13 Teach Tumble to dance around to the left and to the right.
    14 Buy Tile for car keys and set up
    15.1 Prepare along fence for naked ladies
    15.2 Dig up Naked ladies and transplant.
    16 Wash windows inside
    17 Re-upholster dining room chairs and *kitten*, dare I tackle the club chair?
    18 Clear salal from around redwood
    19.1 Mbth: prep and paint shower ceiling with KILZ
    19.2 Mbth: prep and paint ceiling
    19.3 Mbth: prep and paint walls
    19.4 Mbth: prep and paint trim
    19.5 Mbth: prep and paint cabinets
    20 lay out garden paths

    Julie “memories of old cafeteria or school food” how disappointing!
    Rebecca your dumplings sound like Mama’s YUM! Share your recipe? Athena Rose is even yummier! Well done on the elimination diet and loving letter.
    Lisa weaving is something that always appealed to me. Would you share a pic of your baby hand-held loom?
    Katla luck on the storage system improvements!
    Janetr “has a job interview Monday afternoon at a large CPA firm in OKC “ sounds most hopeful. Thanks for posting your transformation pics, inspiring!


    Lighter, lovelies!
    f8qt1s098sxm.gifBarbara, the Southern Oregon Coastie AHMOD
    January: get up and go outside 10 mins EVERY day, even in the rain!
    daily: steps=7938, vits 2 log=2 CI<CO=2 CI<250<CO=1 Tumble 5/10=2 mfp=2
    wkly: BBBorTC x2=, rx= dance= pack walk=
    mnthly: board mtg= grant= outside=2
    Bonus AF= dog group email list= sew= play=
    2020 phrase: Pay attention! Open ears, eyes, heart.
    edited January 3
  • Machka9Machka9 Member Posts: 17,303 Member Member Posts: 17,303 Member
    January 3

    Distance: 22.03km
    Elevation: 163m
    Moving Time: 1:19:57
    Elapsed Time: 1:22:26
    Speed: Avg: 16.5km/h | Max: 39.2km/h

    Warm day ... not a bad ride on the way out, a little bit challenging with the wind on the way back.

    This is all cycling, if you hadn't guessed ... road cycling. :)



    Machka in Oz
    edited January 3
  • ginnytezginnytez Member, Premium Posts: 530 Member Member, Premium Posts: 530 Member
    Made it through work yesterday. Got caught up on some items. Left early and got haircut then went to gym. Got in decent workout but could tell I had been away for two weeks! Disappointed to find out they are closing at 5 pm tonight (holiday hours) so that is all I will get in there this week. Will do home session tonight and work on a walk at lunch time. At least that will keep me moving.

    Going to be rainy here today. Making grocery list so I can stop by store after work then off to start my day.

    Have a good Friday,

    Ginny in Ohio
Sign In or Register to comment.