why don't the low carb folks believe in CICO?

Options

Replies

• misscaligreen
    misscaligreen Posts: 819 Member
    Options
    Barbs2222 wrote: »
    ndj1979 wrote: »
    ceoverturf wrote: »
    *taps fingers impatiently*

I'm already running out of popcorn here!

oh you guys….

Sorry, I eat what I want, carbs and all. But I'm glad to see you ndj1979 because I wanted to thank you! You posted something a few months back that debunked the whole breakfast eating bull. I've been doing leangains 18/6 for 2 months now (since you educated me) and I've never been happier while restricting calories. Seriously happy. My family thinks so too. I know it's different for everyone but I had never, ever heard anyone say it. CICO, just all in one sitting is perfect for me! {{Hugs}} internet person I don't really know.

Enlighten me please?
  • MelRC117
    MelRC117 Posts: 911 Member
    Options
    Metruis wrote: »
    I'm losing faith in CICO.

See, there's no actual studies to back up the commonly quoted "3500 calories = 1 pound of fat". Here, have a bunch of study results for low-fat versus low-carb diets. http://www.lifetime-weightloss.com/storage/Low-Carb vs Low-Fat Study Comparisons.pdf

I don't believe in it because it's wrong. Just like we turned out to be wrong about fat. Etc. Etc. Different types of calories have different effects, 100 calories of chips is different than 100 calories of lettuce. I have days where I eat a boiled egg and an orange and lose nothing, and then days where I gorge myself senseless on Indian buffet food (since I'm gluten-free, it's basically meat, veggies, and fat)... and then drop 5 pounds. WHAT? That doesn't fit calories-in-calories-out. 'Cause of stuff like metabolisms. I'm no dietitian. I'll tell people to "eat less, count your calories, you're probably eating more than you think"... because it's often true. But our bodies are weird and complex things that we don't necessarily understand everything about just yet.