April 2016 Running Challenge

Options

Replies

• Stoshew71
    Stoshew71 Posts: 6,553 Member
    Options
    @9voice9 - It could be possible that you need to work the other way. Perhaps 11:16 is your training pace and maybe you could run a 10k faster?

Correct. The time you enter into the McMillan calculator should be a race PR time. If you took it easier than race pace, then you are not correctly putting in a correct time. You may try running a single mile in the best time you can (leaving nothing in the tank at the end) and then entering that into the calculator and see if that makes a difference.

• shanaber
    shanaber Posts: 6,394 Member
    Options
    pthyay wrote: »

exercise.png

Oookay, you guys must find this a little funny, but I'm a beginner dragging a couple of health problems around, so I'm quite happy with my single kilometre. ;) I was going to do more, but my knee started acting up a bit, and I've learned to stop right away when that happens.

@pthyay - when I started I could not run a single block. I would run a little and walk a little and when I felt I could I ran a little more... We all have to start from scratch and depending on where we are we may be able to a little or a lot but the point is we are doing it and that is the most important thing! You got up and got out that door!
  • WhatMeRunning
    WhatMeRunning Posts: 3,538 Member
    Options
    9voice9 wrote: »
    @WhatMeRunning, @MNLittleFinn: thanks for the responses. I guess I was hoping for a magic formula that would let me be easier, not smart folks who know that I needed a kick in the *kitten*. :smiley: