September 2018 Running Challenge

Options

Replies

• quilteryoyo
    quilteryoyo Posts: 6,007 Member
    Options
    @pudgy1977 Check out this link and see if it helps. I'm no expert. I am trying to follow this training schedule and working up to a faster pace. I think the best run/walk times for you will emerge and change as you run more. Hope that makes sense.

http://www.jeffgalloway.com/training/5k-10k-training/
  • PastorVincent
    PastorVincent Posts: 6,668 Member
    Options
    MobyCarp wrote: »
    kevaasen wrote: »
    zdyb23456 wrote: »
    9/1 16.7 miles
    9/2 rest
    9/3 5 miles treadmill
    9/4 9.21 miles
    9/5 rest
    9/6 10 miles
    9/7 14 miles
    9/8 4miles
    9/9 rest
    9/10 9.41 miles
    9/11 8miles
    9/12 5miles
    9/13 4miles
    9/14 20MILES!!!!!! <- I did it all on the TREADMILL!!!

So what do you do when you have a long run scheduled and you are stuck inside due to a tropical storm warning? Well, you lament that you are stuck inside and resign yourself to skipping it cause who in their right mind would ever run 20 miles on a dreadmill??!!

Well, I figured I had nothing else to do. I also knew I wouldn't be able to run the entire thing straight so I decided to break it up into segments. I did 8 miles, then 6 miles, then 4, then 2. It took me 4 hours and 50 minutes total with breaks between where I would drink water and change into dry running clothes and also feed my kids lunch :smile: I had a pouch of Honey Stingers after 14 miles and they didn't bother my stomach so that's good to know for future long runs.

Here it is! I went by the treadmill mileage since my Garmin in "indoor" mode doesn't seem as accurate. It wasn't too far off though!

3/18/2018 Shamrock half marathon
    3/24/2018 Don't Sit on Colon Cancer 5K
    5/28/2018 Run to Remember 5K

10/7/2018 Crawlin Crab half marathon
    10/13/2018 Joggin for Frogmen 5K
    11/18/2018 Norfolk Harbor half marathon
    12/2/2018 Busch Gardens Christmas Town Dash 8K