You are not just "weak" or "lazy". Food can be an ADDICTION.

Options

Replies

• TR0berts
    TR0berts Posts: 7,739 Member
    Options
    J72FIT wrote: »
    WinoGelato wrote: »
    Oh, these threads ...

So that's all there is to it - willpower and "eat in moderation" is all the world need?

Some day I hope someone will stick its nose away from the proverbial tree and explain, from a historical and anthropological standpoint, the sudden GLOBAL epidemic of "lack of willpower" and "failure to eat in moderation".

It isn't a sudden thing... (well I guess if we are looking at the totality of time that humans have been on the planet the last 50 years or so could be considered sudden) but I'm interested in your theories as to what's causing the obesity epidemic.

I don't have a theory. I am a lawyer, not a scientist.
    I do have a bachelors' degree in history, and that's why I tend to examine things under a historical or long term perspective.

Anyhow. I don't have a theory, but I would expect that amongst all of those who believe that that the sole cause of obesity is lack of willpower, could explain why suddenly, humans are losing their willpower.

As far as I know, this is unprecedented in history, and quite frankly the "we just became lazy and glutton" theory does not fly with me.

But almost everyone here never raise that issue : why NOW in our history?

Our willpower has not changed, I believe, IMO, the environment around us has changed so much (conveniences have made it easy to eat too much and move too little) that our willpower is being tested more and more then in the past...

That right there is, IMHO, where the "willpower" discussion really comes into play. It's not that "willpower" has changed. Rather, it's how often and/or how much willpower is needed now that things are (generally) so much easier and/or use less energy on our parts.
  • quiksylver296
    quiksylver296 Posts: 28,442 Member
    Options
    johunt615 wrote: »