Myfitnesspal

Message Boards Challenges
You are currently viewing the message boards in:

The Sober Squad- Alcohol Free Living

Replies

• wiigelecwiigelec Member Posts: 465 Member Member Posts: 465 Member
    I am sure you meant no harm and you probably do respond better to tough love; you wish someone would have said that to you.

@RubyRed427 yeah i think it has a lot to do with where i grew up and where i work.

rock springs is a pretty industrial place in the middle of the desert with a somewhat sordid history, and i work in the oil field where nothing is sugar coated.

i understand that approach doesn’t work for everybody
    edited January 13
  • FeelinFooFooFeelinFooFoo Member Posts: 4,738 Member Member Posts: 4,738 Member
    RubyRed427 wrote: »
    I went to my hairdresser. He and I have been together for 15 years. We share a lot of personal stories. I told him I am four months sober and he automatically said "did you know that alcohol is a class one carcinogen?"

So I looked it up:
    Class 1 means that it is known that this substance causes cancer in humans. UV radiation is in this category, because science has shown that UV causes between 95-99% of skin cancers in humans. And UV is in good company in this class, which also has asbestos, tobacco and a range of chemicals with scary names.

Yes another reason for us to stay sober.

Some campaigners believe that, just like cigarette packs, there should be some kind of warning on bottles / cans. But alas, this will never happen...

Also, another thing helping to keep me dry is there actually is no safe usage amount of this substance. I will link a video.
  • FeelinFooFooFeelinFooFoo Member Posts: 4,738 Member Member Posts: 4,738 Member
    donimfp wrote: »
    Here's a link to some NA drinks I received in my inbox. Don't know if they will be of interest, but I might try one or two.